George Polk Awards Announces Exclusive New Prize


The first Sydney H. Schanberg Prize created by the George Polk Awards Committee at LIU was given to Luke Mogelson of The New Yorker for his coverage of the Jan. 6, 2021 attack on the U.S. Capitol. The prize, which honors the late Schanberg’s legacy of defying danger to investigate stories, was awarded to Mogelson for his reporting from inside the Capitol and Senate chamber after it was breached.